League of Arab ... | engleski leksikon

League of Arab States

/ ˈliːɡ əv ˈærəb ˈsteɪts /


(Arab League) Organization of Arab states established in Cairo 1945 to promote Arab unity, primarily in opposition to Israel. The original members were Egypt, Syria, Iraq, Lebanon, Transjordan (Jordan 1949), Saudi Arabia, and Yemen. They were later joined by Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Kuwait, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, the PLO, Qatar, Somalia, Sudan, Tunisia, and the United Arab Emirates. In 1979 Egypt was suspended and the league's headquarters transferred to Tunis in protest against the Egypt–Israeli peace, but Egypt was readmitted as a full member May 1989, and in March 1990 its headquarters returned to Cairo. Despite the strains imposed on it by the 1990–91 Gulf War, the alliance survived.

Reč dana


imenica, geografija


pridev, sleng, dijalekt


muški rod, muzika


ženski rod, nautika