To remove or make invisible; SYN. cancel.
Remove or erase. In computing, the deletion of a character removes it from the file; the deletion of a file normally means removing its directory entry, rather than actually deleting it from the disc. Many systems now have an undelete facility that allows the restoration of the directory entry. While deleted files may not have been removed from the disc, they can be overwritten.
To eliminate text, a file, or part of a document with the intention of removing the information permanently. There are several ways to delete. On-screen characters and parts of documents can be deleted with the Delete key, the Backspace key, or with a program’s Delete command. Files can be deleted through a command to the operating system.